Home » Hiking » 2014 Scotland Trip » Durness (Saturday, Sunday)

Durness (Saturday, Sunday)

I got up very late thismorning and eventually tried to cook myself bacon for breakfast and wash some clothes. I was messing around with the washing machine when all the power in the entire house shut off! Oops!! I found the fuse box but everything still looked OK, so I was stumped. Luckily the bacon was cooked enough to eat.

I waited for Scott to get up and sheepishly told him that I thought I’d broken his house. It turns out that the power here is prepaid . . . so you pre-buy a bunch of power onto something like a USB stick, then plug that in. I know, the actual power isn’t on the stick, just the recognition that you’ve paid for a certain amount. So, nothing broken and I got to finish my washing!

I was still incredibly tired today, even after a good night’s sleep. My legs just did not want to do anything. I got a lift with Scott to the Smoo for lunch (he was starting work at 12), intending to come back and go for a walk around town afterwards. I ended up staying, sitting at the bar not moving, all afternoon and evening . . . even borrowing the car to get into town to buy more power and some food!! I did manage to perk up by the late evening though when there was a party for one of the Czech summer workers who was leaving that week. (A number of young Europeans come into town for the summer to do hospitality work)

The following day was bacon and eggs for breakfast (no power issues and I’d bought eggs the day before). Then around to Scott’s parents’ place to pick up the dogs for a walk. I took River for quite long walk, out to Loch Caladail and Loch Meadaidh then up to Beinn Ceannabeinne, the hill just outside of town.

River at Loch Meadaidh. Beinn Ceannabeinne in the background.

River at Loch Meadaidh. Beinn Ceannabeinne in the background.

It was very windy on top and River was not too keen on posing for pictures near the edge.

River, not too excited about the wind. Durness in the background.

River, not too excited about the wind. Durness in the background.

I had walked up the long way (all the way to the south of the hill then up the ridge) but had seen a spot on the way that looked like a suitable shortcut to come down. I saw it on the way back and went to go down. River stopped and stared at me like I was crazy then when I told him to go on, he took off like a rocket, tearing down the hillside! I thought I’d lost him for a while but he showed up shortly afterwards.

Looking doubtfully at the rather steep descent I chose.

Looking doubtfully at the rather steep descent I chose.

It was very steep and quite rough on the way down, but certainly doable and a bit of fun. When I looked back I saw the section I had just come down . . . and the section I’d planned to come down. They were quite different!!

Looking back at Beinn Ceannabeinne. We came down the green bit immediately to the left of the highest knobble. I had been planning to come down the very gentle zig zaggy green bit on the far right!

Looking back at Beinn Ceannabeinne. We came down the green bit immediately to the left of the highest knobble. I had been planning to come down the very gentle zig zaggy green bit on the far right!

We followed a track back into town and stopped by the Smoo so Scott could say hi to River. Then back to his parents’ place to pick up Kyle for a short run at the beach.

After this, dinner at the pub, then back home to pack as I was being picked up in the morning for an overnight walk to cover the last section of my original walk (Kinlochbervie to Cape Wrath).

Leave a Reply

