Home » Hiking » 2014 Scotland Trip » Kinlochbervie to Cape Wrath

Kinlochbervie to Cape Wrath

The last section of my original plan was from Rhiconich to Cape Wrath, then into Durness. The start of this was a 10 – 15km (?) road walk before heading north. Luckily I had a lift to Kinlochbervie, which got rid of most of the road walk . . . . who then ended dropping me at Blairmor, right at the end of the road! This saved me enough time that I could do this walk in 2 days instead of 3.
It ended up being a very short walk along a good track to the renowned Sandwood Bay (pretty, but when you’re from Australia beaches have an entirely different standard to live up to!!).

image

Then it was cross country, through the military bombing range and up the cape to the lighthouse.

wpid-dsc02467.jpg

The lighthouse keeper was lovely and gave me a cup of tea and a sandwich (the first because I was a walker and the second because I was Scott’s friend I think!) then I headed off to Kearvaig Bay where I was staying the night in a bothy.

wpid-dsc02485.jpg

A bothy is an old building (house, barn, whatever) now maintained and made available (for free) to walkers. Kearvaig is a particularly stunning example. It is the white dot just above the sand in the photo. Here us another photo from closer.

image

So, on a special day this year I awoke in a charming private room, with deer on the hill outside the window, walked along the highest cliffs in mainland Britain,

image

walked/climbed up the highest hill on the Cape (Fashven, and I walked straight up the steep bit near the peak, not along the gentle ridge) then flagged down the bus, caught the ferry back to the ‘mainland’ and walked down the Kyle and back into town.

image

On the way I saw Scott’s mum outside his sister’s place so I stopped in where I was surprised with cake and presents!! Then home for a long bath before going out for dinner. All in all, a very special day!

3 Comments

  1. Michelle says:

    Lovely post! This one was my favorite to read so far. 🙂

  2. Bridget says:

    Wow! What a birthday!

  3. Jackie says:

    The perfect way to celebrate a special day.

Leave a Reply

