Home » Hiking » 2014 Scotland Trip » Safely in Inverness!

Safely in Inverness!

Sorry about the silence . . . I’ve been completely without wifi for this walk – either not in civilisation or too tired (or not bothered) to go and find some.
This has been a very different walk from the first one. The first two days were off the standard walk routes, with much of it entirely cross country. This was MUCH harder than I expected and what I was going to see was not as impressive up close as I’d hoped. Still not sure it was worth it (at one point I almost just sat down and gave up but realised that wasn’t going to help me get out of there!) but I certainly learnt a lot that will help on my NW walk and saw some countryside that hardly anyone gets to see.

wpid-dsc01102.jpg

My first real “wild camp” – After my first cross country day, no sign of other people, just after a ‘wild’ river crossing, and I even saw deer here when I arrived. (most of my other camping spots had clear signs they’d been used before.)

Glen Roy - You can see the "parallel roads" that I did this crazy section to see. Caused by the different shore levels of the water that filled the valley when glaciers plugged the end. Sadly they are almost imperceptible up close and practically useless for walking on. And the photo doesn't quite convey the horror of the ground conditions, or the beauty of the swirling mist but does somewhat convey the height of the hill and the beauty of the glen.

Glen Roy – You can see the “parallel roads” that I did this crazy section to see. Caused by the different shore levels of the water that filled the valley when glaciers plugged the end. Sadly they are almost imperceptible up close and practically useless for walking on. And the photo doesn’t quite convey the horror of the ground conditions, or the beauty of the swirling mist but does somewhat convey the height of the hill and the beauty of the glen.

The 3rd day was fairly boring in comparison. Mainly canal paths so very scenic but quite hard on the feet. This was also the day the sun came out. First day since I’ve been here it hasn’t rained on me! I had time to kill (keys to my Inverness accommodation not arriving until Tursday evening) so I even went on a boat trip on Loch Ness at Fort Augustus.
Day 4 had a new ‘high’ section, just opened, and WOW, it gave some stunning views. Also much more enjoyable walking.

Here is an obligatory photo of me, to show I'm still alive! This is looking over Loch Ness, to the SW from roughly half way along. The camera is precariously balanced on a ledge, hence the odd 'foreground'. Loch Ness is huge, more water than all the lakes in England and Wales combined, over 200m deep with incredibly steep sides and a very flat bottom.

Here is an obligatory photo of me, to show I’m still alive! This is looking over Loch Ness, to the SW from roughly half way along. The camera is precariously balanced on a ledge, hence the odd ‘foreground’.
Loch Ness is huge, more water than all the lakes in England and Wales combined, over 200m deep with incredibly steep sides and a very flat bottom.

Day 5 was the final 25ish kms into Inverness. Mostly pleasant enough but nothing like the views of the previous day. Then, as I still had time to kill, I added a 6km round trip to visit the sea lock, where the Caledonian canal joins the Beauly Forth. I’m pretty done in now!!
I have a few days in Inverness to recover so may be able to post some photos for you and will certainly try to let you know before I head out on my next walk (planned for Friday).

Hope you are all well!

PS when I say the first two days were hard, think constantly wet, knee high scrub, tussocky uneven ground, ankle deep bogs and incessant slopes. Plus, 400+m hills are not to be taken lightly!!

1 Comment

  1. thegomof51 says:

    Hooray Forkay, Sounds like you’ve really started hiking……
    Remember ….”This is why we walk …. Placing faith in your self & gear on the knife edge of “character building” vs stupidity and knowing the difference!”…..
    I guess Scotland’s edge is about to test your limits.
    Remember in the darkest hours to ask the Wise Woman, she’ll know….and look forward to the highs & lows of the 3rd walk, the real fun is just beginning.
    Enjoy

Leave a Reply

