Home » Hiking » 2014 Scotland Trip » Well over half way (of first walk)

Well over half way (of first walk)

This post was supposed to be two days ago but it wouldn’t upload and I haven’t had wifi since then. I like it though so you can have it anyway, then I’ll do a new, up to date one.

This country needs to stop being so stunningly beautiful. It is really hard to maintain a decent walking pace when I keep having to stop and take photos or look at the view!! Anyway, I had the first glimpse today of the mountain I’m planning to walk up tomorrow. A little bit scared. OK, more than a little!

image

That is it behind the Ladies Scottish Climbing Club. And I’m not planning on climbing, but walking (or scrambling!) up!

In the meantime, here is my pitch for the night, where I’ve just killed 5hrs eating and drinking preparing for tomorrow’s ordeal.

Pitch near the Kings' House Hotel, with the big Buachaille in the background.

Pitch near the Kings’ House Hotel, with the big Buachaille in the background.

(The mountain is Buachaille Etive Mor. I’m camping just behind Kings House Hotel – the closest I’ve slept to other people in 4 days!)

I’m going well. Miss you all!

3 Comments

  1. Michelle says:

    Beautiful photo!!

  2. Jackie says:

    I love this photo!

  3. […] Coming down of the high moorland I had my first view of Buachaille Etive Mor (which I’m climbing tomorrow). I was pretty scared. It is HUGE and looks unassailable. At least I would already be at ~180m (down from the 430m ASL on the moor today) so it would only be 860m climbing! There is a picture of it here. […]

Leave a Reply

